I love my Mac computer!

I just love my Mac. I’ve had one since late 1987 (an old Mac Plus, with no internal hard drive, just a floppy disc slot; I bought a 20MB external hard drive for over $300!). Now I have a G4 in my pastor’s study, an iMac 17″ flat panel at home, and a white iBook I take inbetween and everywhere else. In just a few days, both my youngest kids, Jonathan and Elizabeth will get a used iMac (both the old G3s) to use for school projects. This list isn’t even including the long-since discarded Quadra 605, the Mac Classis II, the old Performa from my brother, the given-as-ministry Wallstreet PowerBook. By the way, did I say, “I just love my Macintosh computers”?

Anyway, one of the reasons I enjoy them so much is because of Widgets. Since Apple is just the-absolutely-most-fun-you-can-have-with-a-computer computer, I use lots of widgets. You can find them all (well, nearly all of them) here. One I use daily allows uploads of pictures from NASA’s astronomy site. The other day, I had this pop up on my screen:


Imagine Abraham, who’s just heard this from the Lord: “And he brought him outside and said, ‘Look toward heaven, and number the stars, if you are able to number them.’ Then he said to him, ‘So shall your offspring be.'” (Genesis 15.5, ESV). Then he looks up into the night sky and sees that!

Imagine Job seeing something like this in his misery and “debating” with his “friends.” Is it any wonder he would say this: “Is not God high in the heavens? See the highest stars, how lofty they are!”

And God, in His gracious rebuke of Job in 38.4 & 8: “Where were you… when the morning stars sang together and all the sons of God shouted for joy?”

Reminds me of the old gospel chorus :

“In the stars His handiwork I see…
He’s everything to me!”

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Great blog! I’ve added a link to your blog on Blog of the Day under the category of Computer. To view the feature of your blog, please visit http://blogoftheday.org/page/112162

  2. Reformed, EvFree and a Mac addict? Man, are we related or something?! šŸ™‚

    I’m looking at a 17″ G4 iMac so I’m pretty jealous.

    Do you use Accordance?

Leave a Reply

