Things to Make You Think on This Thursday

I came across this in my early morning blog browsing: Jon Bloom, from Desiring God Ministries, writes about doing things that are hard. Read the whole thing and take heart. Here’s a teaser:

When You Don’t Feel Like It, Take Heart: “

(Author: Jon Bloom)

Did you wake up not feeling like reading your Bible and praying? How many times today have you had to battle not feeling like doing things you know would be good for you?

While it’s true that this is our indwelling sin that we must repent of and fight against, there’s more going on.

Think about this strange pattern that occurs over and over in just about every area of life


Here’s a good quote:

“A man is not idle because he is absorbed in thought. There is a visible labor and there is an invisible labor.”

I wonder why it appears I do so much invisible labor? I think it’s because I’m lost in thought, not absorbed! Where’s the Bounty when you need it!


And finally, I’m going to join up with Tim Challies and gang in reading Redemption Accomplished and Applied by John Murray. I haven’t read this entire book since seminary and even then, I think the desk fan was on blowing pages right to left (well, not really; there are some highlighting markups there). This will be a good, heady read. Going slowly through it with who knows how many blog-readers will be a great experience, good reading and, I trust God will use it to continue shaping my thinking and my heart when it comes to the work of Christ on the cross.

Here are my thoughts on Chapter 1 –

Murray begins this work with the necessity of the atonement. Most of us, as Christians, probably don’t consider this. We simply assume the atonement. However, once you begin reading Murray thoughts, you realize that the substitutionary atonement of Jesus Christ was absolutely necessary for the forgiveness of our sins and our eternal salvation. There have been (and are) those who speak of the atonement as hypothetical – not in the sense that it may or may not have happened, but that it was one of several possibilities that God could have chosen from in order to redeem man. It’s like God had a shelf up in His office and when it came time to predestine salvation, He looked up on the shelf, saw several different ingredients, but simply decided to use SubAtone instead of something different. Murray argues, rights from texts of Scripture, that this is not correct. Rather, because of who God is (God is love, holy and righteous), He had to send His Son to suffer and die for our sins. Our salvation is contingent upon this. The atonement is absolutely contingent upon this.

Hebrews 2.10, 17 tell us that it was requisite that many sons be brought to glory through Christ’s suffering.

John 3.14–16 informs us that we’d all be lost if God didn’t love the world and send His Son to die for our salvation.

Hebrews 1.1–3, 2.9–18, 22–28 give us clear indication that only such a One as Christ could remove our sin, could have purified sinful man and secured us for glory.

Chapter 1 contain six points which lay out the contingent absolute necessity of the atoning work of Christ. They have stirred my thinking, as well as my heart. I must confess that I would have fallen closer to the hypothetical camp simply because I thought it was allowing God to be God in letting Him choose how He would save us. Now I see clearly that because God is God, He had to save us in this very manner and no other would have been sufficient nor efficient. Praise God I’m saved by His grace and not by my sloppy thinking. May He use Murray’s work to shape me more into His image.

Leave a Reply

