40 Loaves – a book review

new InsightBookReader(‘preview’, ‘9780307444905’, ‘Forty%20Loaves’, ‘C.%20D.%20Baker’, ‘0’, ”, ‘http://www.randomhouse.com/cgi-bin/buy_landing.php?isbn=9780307444905’);

About this book –

“Why don’t I have more faith?”

“Why am I so bored with Jesus?”

“Why are Christians so hard for me to like?” 


There are many questions we’re not supposed to ask when playing by the religious rules. It makes people uncomfortable. So why is it that Jesus invited questions and even asked some of them himself? What is it that you’re afraid to ask God? It’s a risky prospect to begin asking–but far riskier to continue simply trying to get by without knowing. Author C. D. Baker asked himself 40 soul-searching questions which started a conversation in his heart and ultimately showed him more about God than He ever expected. 


Can we become more honest with who we really are and find who God says He really is at the same time? Come indulge yourself in daily readings with an honest exploration of your secret fears and thoughts, and know that you will always be welcomed in God’s unconditional love.


Search me, O God … and know my anxious thoughts.

–Psalm 139:23 NIV

Baker, CD.jpgauthor spotlight

C. D. Baker founded an award-winning business before redirecting his career to write full-time from his small farm in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. He is the author of eight books, including six novels, one of which was a finalist for a Christy Award. Baker has a Master’s degree in theological studies from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland.

My Review –

What a delightful read! I’ve had opportunity to read and review several "devotional" type books in the past several months. This is, by far, the best of any of them. Head and shoulders better. Mountain-top better. There, have I used a sufficient number of superlatives to describe the way I think about this book? Before I go any further, I highly recommend this book. If I could purchase one for every household in my congregation, I would do so in a heartbeat.

Baker’s style takes you deep, yet remains straightforward and easy to read. Each chapter is based off a question – a question he has asked himself or someone has asked him. He then goes on to provide an answer, while all the time, not coming off like "The Answer Man" that can be so trite and annoying in other formats. Here is just a sampling of the questions asked:

     • Why am I so uncomfortable with doubts?

     • Why do I get angry with God?

     • Why is loving others so hard for me?

     • Why does God seem silent in my life?

     • Why do I pray only in emergencies?

     • Why am I bored with church, the Bible, and Jesus?

He then goes on to provide insight into each question through the use of Scripture, personal experience or anecdotes of other’s lives, usually all mixed into one short reading. Each 3-4 page chapter then closes out with a "Food for Thought" section which asks the reader some questions to get him or her thinking about the issue at hand. Finally, a short prayer is provided to guide one’s own meditation upon these things. Some of the prayers are directly from Scripture (my favorite type of prayer), from some saint in the past, or simply an offering from the author.

I highly recommend this book. Order it now and you can start off the New Year with it. You can read it in forty days, or use one each week to take you more than halfway through the year. Give yourself time to meditate upon the questions, ask them of yourself, reflect if you’ve asked these kinds of questions yourself; then allow God to search your heart for answers.

You can purchase this book at WaterBrook Multnomah, or their parent company, RandomHouse.

This book was provided for reviewing by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.

Leave a Reply

