I Am Unworthy

Now, I realize that this post’s title would be something a lot of my regular readers would heartily agree with. However, After watching this video of Al Mohler’s personal library, I walk into my very humble little space of study at Cornerstone EFC and am humbled even more. I could wallow in self-pity merely out of the grandeur of Mohler’s digs. I could be saturated with envy over the sheer numbers of books, let alone the beauty of how it’s all arranged. Or I could find myself despairing because I will never have that many books, never read that many books, nor having read them, be able to, at a moment’s notice, have someone grab a random book off any shelf and give you a several sentence synopsis of that book (Mohler did this in one of Together for the Gospel’s earlier videos a couple of years ago).

No, I’m unworthy because the books I have at present are a sign of God’s grace. Had Christ not died on the cross for me, had God the Father not chosen me before the foundation of the world to be one of His adopted children, had not the Holy Spirit re-birthed me spiritually, giving me a heart of flesh instead of the crusty old heart of stone I once had, I would not only not have the books I have, I wouldn’t have read them nor understood any of them. So, yes, I’m unworthy and yet, but by God’s good grace & mercy, I have my books. Most of them have proven very helpful. I’d thought of creating a short video of my library, but what’s the point of a three second video?

Let me know what you think of Mohler’s place.

Al Mohler – Study Video from Together for the Gospel (T4G) on Vimeo.


Technorati Tags:
, , , , , ,

